Too incredible for words or pictures.

10 Feb

DSCN0439 DSCN0443DSCN0494DSCN0469

There have been many times in my life where I have said “that was the most beautiful thing I have ever seen” or “this is the best day of my life.”  I’m usually referring to a really good breakfast sandwich I just ate. However, I think that after the incredible hike I went on here in Spain, I don’t think they could be more true. Without much struggle I convinced a few friends to come on a hike with me.. a 16k hike… aka 10 miles.

The adventure started out with a bus ride out to a village about 20 minutes away called Beas de Granada. I told them we had to by one way tickets because we would be hiking back to the Granada through the mountains. For some reason they didn’t argue. They may or may not be just as crazy as I am. All we had to get us back to Granada was two maps and me as a tour guide. yikes. After we wandered the village (population like 3.5 people maybe) and through some weird farms, we discovered the trail (I think) we wanted to be on. It didn’t really matter whether we were on the right trail or not because with the view from these mountains you could see for miles and tell where the other trails met up. The mountains we were on ran parallel to the Sierra Nevada mountains. Every inch of this hike was full of incredible breathtaking views. We stopped to eat a few times and to take classic awkward Meg photos and spent the entire afternoon in one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. It was perfectly silent up there and not another person in sight for miles. After about 5 hours of winding trails and terrifying cliffs, we finally saw La Alhambra over the hill which meant the city center was just down the hill. To reward ourselves for this exhausting day our first stop when we got back to town was to a place called Shawarma King to shove our faces with french fries and shawarma. I’m obsessed with shawarma and am assuming none of you know what it is. Thats a blog post for another day.

Today I’m laying in bed incredibly sore and sunburnt and cannot move thanks to this hike. However, every second was worth it. Pictures definitely do not do it justice.

One Response to “Too incredible for words or pictures.”

  1. Bonnie Mullen February 14, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    Happy V-Day!!!!!!
    XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

