Comida!

17 Feb

So everyone keeps asking me what I’ve been eating over here. Luckily my host mom is an amazing cook so I eat delicious food (almost) everyday. Besides the occasional pasta with octopus in it, I love everything. A lot of our meals are food that is pretty similar to American food like grilled chicken and eggplant fries or beef stew. She seems to always know when one of us is sick because those are the days we have soup for lunch. My favorite has become garbonzo bean soup. It’s heavenly. At every meal we have fresh bread and usually a tray of fresh sliced tomatoes with seasoning on them. This is what the daily spread usually looks like:

IMG_3040IMG_2959

IMG_2957

Some days we get extra spoiled and Elba makes us homemade paella which is a typical spanish dish with rice, vegetables and usually seafood but can be made with any meat. Shes a professional at paella. The paella in restaurants don’t compare because those are mostly for tourists.

IMG_3069

And on the rare occasion that we don’t eat with the host family and Elba just brings us pizza our dinner looks like this because yolo.

IMG_2497

 

 

 

 

Aside from eating meals with our host family, we also go out for tapas often. Spain is known for their tradition of tapas and I love it. Tapas are almost like appetizers you get for free when you buy drinks. It is typical that you just go out for tapas with friends instead of eating a huge dinner. My first favorite tapas were muscles we got at a lovely hole in the wall restaurant in Madrid. However, Granada does have the best.

IMG_3001

IMG_2987

And on to my all time favorite food here in Granada: Shawarma. Because Granada is in the south of Spain, there is a ton of Arab influence on the culture here and I am so thankful for it. You can find the best tea houses, hookah lounges, and Shawarma places around here. Shawarma is an arabic style of cooking meat. It is usually chicken or lamb but can be beef too. It is basically like a burrito without rice in it and it is like crack. They are also all open until like 7am so I can eat it whenever I please. This is the shawarma I ate after my hike last week.

Here are some pics of other things the spaniards know how to do well including olives and desserts. They don’t mess around when it comes to desserts. The first one is basically a grilled cheese sandwich in dessert form. Aka heaven.

IMG_2518IMG_2492

IMG_2517

3 Responses to “Comida!”

  1. Bonnie Mullen February 18, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

    A message from Grandma,
    I am so happy to see you are eating well!!!! Only 92 more days!

  2. Bonnie Mullen February 19, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    Hi Megan! I work with your Auntie Bonnie and I just had to explain to her what “yolo” meant since it is not a Spanish word like she had thought. She knows what a hookah is though.

    This is really fun to read 🙂
    Mackenzie

  3. Bonnie Mullen February 20, 2013 at 2:25 am #

    Hi MEG!
    I just learned from Auntie what YOLO ment! But I do know what a Hookah is lol. 🙂 Waiting for my crazy awsome gift in 89 days!

Leave a Reply

