Roma, Italia

26 Feb

This past weekend I got the chance of a lifetime to go to Rome with my study abroad program. The trip was off to a rough start when our flight from Granada to Madrid was cancelled because of strikes at Iberia airlines. British airways owns Iberia airlines and is cutting 20% of the jobs so they did have a reason for a strike. This meant we had to take a 5 hour bus ride instead at a brutal 7am. Once we got to Madrid the airport was insane. It was so loud and there were thousands of people protesting. This is what we were welcomed by:

IMG_3150 IMG_3156

After we made it though the chaos thanks to our incredibly calm directors, we made it to Rome and safely to our hotel. That night after we settled in we went out for our first Italian dinner which was pizza of course followed by gelato.

IMG_3175

The next morning I woke up to a gift from the gods (or the hotel) . We had breakfast for free at the hotel and to my surprise there was bacon and eggs! I could not have been happier.

Then we proceeded to our panaramic bus tour of Rome that was scheduled for the day that looked a little something like this:

IMG_3178

65526_10151334210438262_1283323612_n

Just when I thought the torture was over, the bus dropped us off at the colosseum in the pouring rain without any tip on how to get back to the hotel. We thought we could rely on our favorite API intern to get us back but it turned out he also had no clue. So there we were, stranded in the middle of Rome in the pouring rain. I was cranky.

DSCN0528IMG_3192

Once we got past this brutal afternoon in the freezing rain I enjoyed Rome much more. We ate, and ate, and ate some more and I got to enjoy all of Italy’s typical tourist must-eats like gelato, pasta, and even a cannoli 🙂

conoliDSCN0536IMG_3272526183_10151334217588262_1257358584_n

Of course I did other things that eat (surprising I know). I had the incredible opportunity to see the Pope’s last angelus, wander around the Vatican museum and sistine chapel, visit the Pantheon, and even make a wish of a lifetime at the Trevi fountain. Overall Rome was wonderful, bad weather and all. However, I’m happy to be back in Spain 😉

DSCN0607IMG_3299IMG_3234DSCN0584IMG_3319IMG_3322

7 Responses to “Roma, Italia”

  1. Bonnie Mullen February 28, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    did you throw 3 coins in the fountain!?

    • mdelano2 February 28, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

      no I only threw one, was I supposed to throw three?…

  2. Bonnie Mullen February 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    YES!!!

    • mdelano2 February 28, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

      Oh. Oopsies

      • Bonnie Mullen February 28, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

        Just go back this weekend.

      • mdelano2 February 28, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

        I can’t, I’m going to Africa!

  3. Bonnie Mullen February 28, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    What!!!!!! What are you doing in Africa?

Leave a Reply

