London, England

8 May

Although I said that Dublin was my favorite city I have been to during this trip, there just may be a new contender. Last week I went on the most amazing trip to London, England and it was more wonderful than I could have ever imagined. The only down side was the conversion rate which made all my my money worth nothing at all, but other than that I cannot complain. Let me give you a summary of the trip.

First off my roommate, Jorgelina, and I set off for the airport and got there with time to spare to eat some food and hang around for a bit. We were off to a slight rough start. Host mom made us the most pathetic sandwiches ever which consisted of just garlic cream cheese on white bread.. not even a baguette like normal.. just plain old white bread. It was so upsetting. But I ate it anyways and then got starbucks to make me feel better. This is how they spelt Jorgelina and Megan….

IMG_4790

Just as I’m about to settle in the my seat on the plane I realize that I left my favorite leather jacket in the airport but there was no turning back now so I spent the entire plane right trying to come to terms with the fact that it was fine because Granada was hot now and I didn’t need it and it’s just a jacket and yada yada yada.. (I’m still bummed about it)

Anyways, we get to London and I instantly get butterflies in my stomach realizing where I just landed. For some reason I wasn’t that excited until I heard the workers in the airport with their lovely british accents. We tackled the plane trains and subways just fine and made it to our hostel which was in a perfect location in walking distance to all of the cool sights. We settled in and my roommate was instantly hesitant about sleeping there (as she is everywhere we go) because the bunk beds were kind of weird and hers was practically on the floor. After we stood there and discussed how weird that was we went out exploring in London and ended up stumbling upon china town! I was so excited to see food other than boring gross spanish food. It was sensory overload. I also had to go buy new sunglasses deu to my incident with the ocean the previous weekend.. it was rough. And obviously we stopped for pics in photo booths.

IMG_4803 IMG_4794

IMG_4805

During our adventure through China town and Soho we also accidentally stumbled upon the Star Trek premier where there was apparently a lot of famous people.. To be completely honest I’ve never even seen Star Trek but it was cool anyways. After this excitement we had our first dinner in London which was obviously fish and chips. It only took us about 30 minutes to figure out how to use their money. I still don’t even get it.

The next morning we had plans to meet up with some of our friends who were also visiting London. We were headed to see the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace but first on our agenda is always food so we ate a monstrous breakfast that I’ve been dying for since I left America. The changing of the guards was pretty cool but to be honest I didn’t really have a clue what was going on.

IMG_4854 DSCN1070 DSCN1084

After we watched the guards we went and explored some more. We went to the Hard Rock Cafe of London which apparently is really famous and after went to see the Saint Paul’s Cathedral and then my favorite part of the whole trip… Borough Market. This was a jackpot of yummy food where you could try anything and everything from all over the world. I ate more types of cheese than I ever knew existed and drank some very yummy juice. This is where we ate German food for lunch before we headed over to see the London Bridge (which is actually called Tower Bridge) While we were taking pics of eachother at the bridge these lovely Indian women asked to take pictures with us for no apparent reason. It was wicked cute.

IMG_4837 DSCN1108

DSCN1131IMG_4848

I almost forgot to add in the part where my roommate woke me up at 7am this day to tell me that she cancelled the rest of our reservations and got our money back and that she already made reservations at the Hilton in Hyde Park… I was definitely not about to complain about that nor was I surprised because this has happened on every trip. So after we parted ways with our friends we headed back to our hotel and then went out for some yummy Chinese dinner. The next day we had plans to meet up with a friend from Spain who recently moved to London. Him and his friends showed us all around the city. We saw to Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, the London Eye, Parliament, Harrod’s (where you can buy everything from fudge to a Bentley.. not even kidding. It’s amazing.) rode on the top of a double decker bus for funsies, layed in Hyde Park, and finished off our great day with the most delicious Indian food I have ever had. It was absolutely perfect.

IMG_4861IMG_4871IMG_4880IMG_4878

IMG_4892

This weekend it’s off to the beautiful beach town of Cadiz with my program and then it’s just two short weeks until I see you all again<3

As the British would say, Cheers!

Leave a Reply

